EUCAST ECCMID uudised

19.05.2016 KM ja EUCAST TR koosolek Synlab

The European Committee on Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing - EUCAST

- 10 May 2016:
 - EUCAST is a standing committee jointly organized by ESCMID, ECDC and European national breakpoint committees
 - EUCAST was formed in 1997. It has been chaired by Ian Phillips (1997 - 2001), Gunnar Kahlmeter (2001 - 2012), Rafael Canton 2012 - 2016) and Christian Giske (2016 -). Its scientific secretary is Derek Brown (1997 -). Its webmaster is Gunnar Kahlmeter (2001 -).
 - From 2016, Rafael Canton is the Clinical Data Co-ordinator and Gunnar Kahlmeter the Technical Data Co-ordinator.

EUCAST Steering Committee changes

• 17 Apr 2016:

- Christian Giske (Sweden) is the new chair of EUCAST, Rafael Canton, who has served as the chair 2012 -2016 takes over as the clinical data co-ordinator, Gunnar Kahlmeter is the new Technical Data Coordinator. Derek Brown remains as the scientific secretary until the end of 2016.
- The two General Committee representatives, Iztok Strumbelj (Slovenia) and Jan Verhaegen (Belgium), make room for Deniz Gür (Turkey) and Arjana Tambic Andrasevic (Croatia), both of whom will serve 2016 -18.

EUCAST Consultations

- Proposed revision of fluoroquinolone breakpoints
- Proposed revision of the colistin breakpoint for *Pseudomonas aeruginosa*
- Report from the EUCAST Subcommittee on the role of whole genome sequencing (WGS) in antimicrobial susceptibility testing
- The period for consultation is 13 May 24 June, 2016

EUCAST Subcommittees

- EUCAST subcommittees are set up to deal with specific issues or areas requiting particular expertise. Consultations and decisions on subcommittee proposals are made through the EUCAST Steering Committee and follows the structure of all other consultations and decisions. When subcommittees have fulfilled their remit they are disbanded but may be re-established if the need arises.
- Subcommittees:
 - Subcommittee on Antifungal Susceptibility Testing (EUCAST AFST) . Standing subcommittee established in 2002.
 - Veterinary Subcommittee on Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing (VetCAST). Standing Subcommittee established in 2015.
 - Subcommittee on the role of whole genome sequencing in antimicrobial susceptibility testing. Chair Neil Woodford. Established in 2015. First report available.